menu

Shadow Day

2002-10-15
Wow...today was totally not what I expected. I shadowed the Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Progeny, the company my dad works for and I was expecting to get to see what it is like to have an upper management position. Anyway, today all the sales reps were participating in a negotiation training seminar which I really wasn't expecting. Since the guy I was shadowing was the highest level sales guy there was I got to go to the room with all the big whigs and learn about how to negotiate contracts. I actually learned alot. When I first walked into the room I was a little nervous, but after about a half hour I had totally opened up to all the guys and was having a blast. I was participating and talking as if I was one of the big whigs. The scary part was that I was actually pretty good at negotiating, especially against some of these big whig guys. I really got into my buisness mode and took off. In fact during the lunch break I went and sat with some of the sales reps, one of them asked me what I was doing and I told him I was shadowing Don. "Oh cool" he said "What department are you from?" I chuckled for a minute and then replied that I was just a senior in high school. The funniest part though was that about ten minutes later the exact same thing happened when a lady came and sat down at the table. She asked the exact same question. I always thought I looked younger than my age. :-) It was a nice compliment though to know that these guys thought that I was an actual employee. When we returned from lunch I went back to the training session and we had these little mock negotiations. IT WAS SOO MUCH FUN! I was soo good too!! hehehehe They all said I was the most talkative and persuasive kid they had ever met. Wow that made me soo happy. They all said I would be one hell of a tough guy to bargain with when I grew up. ;-)

OMG we freakin won WGI!!! No, we like stole WGI!!! Holy cow what is next!!!

I think that before I become anything in the buisness world I need to learn how to spell. Yes, that would be nice. Wierd.

Jason<><

7:43 p.m.
prev :: next


credits