menu

Indy Regional

2002-11-10
Wow was this weekend fun or what! I had a blast! Do you realize what bands we were walking with last night! Are we one of those bands now?! Well, not quite but we are getting darn close!

All I did basically on Friday was watch the clock. All day I sat there, staring at the clock. I seriously couldn't wait for us to leave for Indy! Then we finally left and I stopped counting down the minutes until we left. Instead, I started counting down the minutes until we performed. Yes, I was that anxious and excited. I dunno what got into me, but this competition had me all strung up. I knew it was my last Regional and I didn't want to go down knowing I didn't do my best. So, I got as wrapped up in it as I could.

Lot's of people have told me that they were really nervous for the prelims performance. I was so just the opposite. Well actually, the time between the chorale and the first hit I got a bit nervous. I think that was because we messed up the chorale so bad. Once the show got started though I was all into it and everything. I think the only difference between my prelims show and my finals show was the fact that I had the crowd factor in the way I marched and played during the finals show.

Ok, so everyone comes off the field in prelims telling me how much they sucked! I don't wanna hear what you did wrong!!!!!!! Geez, I wish some people would look at the positive side of things more often. Find the things you did right and tell me about those. You negative people are just not my type.

The announcement of finals, now that was coooooooool. I had Rachel sitting on my right and the odd smelling Mr. Hood on the left (he smelled really really wierd!). Rachel takes my hand as they announce finals and I start listening and getting really really nervous. You know, the kind of nervousness where your heart races two thousand beats a minute and you get this light feeling. After the first five my heart rate must have tripled. After the next two were announced my heart rate tripled again. Then after those other to 'b' bands were announced my heart rate skyrocketed. To be honest I had given up on any hope of us getting in at that point. Then they announced our name!!!!!!!!! Holy cow!!!!!!! We did it!!!!!! Yes, as shelby did put it, we all screamed like a bunch of girls. The coolest aspect of the announcement of finalists though was actually getting to 'feel' it as Rachel's grip got tighter and tighter. Rachel you are the greatest!

The ride home was a complete mess. Everyone was wet, things were thrown around everywhere, and it was mass chaos. I dunno how the pit stuff got loaded, but it did. During our little pit stop at the gas station my uniform magically disappeared. Mr. Ribinson said he put it under a bus, but when I checked at school when we got back it was no where to be found. Ben said some went on the truck. I sure as heck hope that mine was one of them!!

Some people say they slept alot and some say they barely fell asleep on the bus. I personally slept pretty well. While Rachel and the pillow would have been nicer, having a seat all to myself was definetly the second best thing that could have happened. I sure had a nice crick in my neck when I woke up though!

I am off to go to bed. I just seem to not be able to get enough sleep today. I slept in till noon so that was nice. See ya'll later!

Jason<><

8:14 p.m.
prev :: next


credits