menu

The Day Before Powder

2005-01-13
Hmmm, something about the fact that I should be in bed right now. Hmmmmmmmm

So tomorrow I have class and then back to back to back power hours. Thursday is definitely my only truly crappy day. Its ok though because after that last power hour I will hop on a bus down to Indy. From there I will hop on a plane to Dallas. From there I will hop on a plane to Utah. From there I will hop in a car with the parents and drive to a mountain that I can't remember the name of. Then I will sleep in my hotel room only to awake to OVER 6 FEET OF SNOW. I will then proceed to go skiing all day long for the rest of the weekend. Life is rough.

Last year I got to go to Disney in the middle of the fall semester. This year I get to go skiing in the middle of the spring semester. Its stuff like this that make me think "hot dang, my family is loaded!" But then I think about how much my family is really paying for the trip. The trip to Disney last year cost my family 4 tickets to Epcot and 4 tickets to Universal along with food. That really is not that expensive. Airfare and hotel were covered by free stuff and dad's company. This trip is costing the family $49 in airfare and ski rentals. Hotel, the rest of the airfare, and lift tickets are all covered by other people, companies, etc. So is my family rich or are they just really creative with their money? I think the answer is a little bit of both. :)

I know I got the creative with money gene. For instance I just got two cds from Best Buy for $1.98 and I am getting a free Dell printer. The only catch with the printer is that I have to wait until March before they will ship it to me. I don't mind waiting as long as the price is free!

All is good in the world. Well ok not really, but it sure feels like it. Things really are just going incredibly well. Like for instance the University just sent me a check for $1,800. *sigh* Life is good.

I got the job as supervisor at Tarkington yesterday. I think I must be the youngest supervisor ever. I don't know of any teenagers ever hired before. My time as a teenager is dwindling though. So sad. :( I really being able to call myself a true teen. Its fun and young feeling. Ahh well, we all gotta grow up sometime. Besides, being twenty only makes me one year away from twenty-one and that means being an RA!!!!!

I remember thinking to myself Spring Break of senior year "Next time I will get to go skiing will be my sophomore year in college...I wonder what things will be like." Its funny having now made it to that point and realizing that close to NOTHING is how I thought it would be. Just as life starts taking me down one path it yanks me up and puts me on another. I'm cool with that...most of the time. It helps keep life interesting. :)

Alright, I have rambled enough. Its time for me to head to bed. Hopefully mom and dad will bring the digital camera so I can share some pictures of the Rockies with you all!

1:04 a.m.
prev :: next


credits