menu

Can I have some extra change with my order please

2005-01-10
Everything starts new each semester. Its the beauty of school. No matter what you did last semester you get to start fresh this time. Along the lines of newness and getting to start over again I decided to give the good ol' dland a revamping. After hours of serious trial and error coding my new look is complete. I tried to make the auto note poster a little more simple this time so that people wouldn't post notes by accident. :) I hope you like the new look!

So change is the buzzword again. The layout has changed and most importantly my life has taken upon some major change. Where do I start?....

On Saturday morning I went in to work and talked with one of the full time staff. In our discussion I learned that my old staff supervisor hadn't just left the position, but he had left the university entirely. So I asked if his old room was vacant. She said it was so I asked if I could have it. Sure enough she said I could. So before John had even got up here I had left for a new room. This may sound a bit shady, but it ends up working out. You see the staff promised that they won't be giving John a new roommate, so now he gets a double all to himself! That is an incredibly good deal. You might be wondering why I left my room to begin with. John and I were getting along great, what motive did I have to leave? You see John is hoping to be an RA next semester and I am hoping to be one the semester after that. This leaves me with the need for only housing in the fall this year, but without a roommate. Now who wants to room with someone for just one semester?! Because of this I had been actively searching for a single room for next year. In Tarkington there are really only two single rooms. Both are generally always taken and you need to be a junior, but more like a senior, to get one. This is because the singles actually used to be, in essence, old hotel rooms for honored guests back in like the 60's. So the rooms have a full bathroom including a bath/shower combo. They also have a walk in closet and a nice open area where the bed and desk are. Essentially, these rooms are the two best rooms in the entire residence hall. Well Tony, my old supervisor who left, used to have one. So when he left I jumped on it. So now I have a single, John has a single, and everything worked out perfectly. Who would have thunk that little sophmore Ford would end up with the BEST room in the house! Not I.

So my home of the last year and a half has changed, but what else has changed in the last few days? Well, band is now officially over. I don't really see any of those guys anymore. I now am only taking 12 hours of class instead of the 20 I took last semester. That is a huge change. I just applied for the supervisor position at Tarkington. If I get that it will be a huge change. I will be responsible for all of the student staff at Tarkington who are in the mail room and the front desk.

Oh and there is one more rather HUGE change. I am sure most of you know that last summer I had the opportunity to work at COMDATA. I absolutely loved the company and was entirely planning on going back to work there again this summer. Well, as you can guess, that has changed. I received an email from the CEO of Mountin TOP that was addressed specifically to me. The email talked about how the organization is looking to change. They want to do some radical things to change how the summer staff operates and how the whole process works. She went on to ask if I would be willing to consider coming back this summer and applying for the top position and leading all that change. I can't tell you how thrilled I was to see that Mountain TOP was opening up its eyes and realizing that it was time to do things differently. So when she asked if I wanted to come back and help CHANGE the way things work I immediatly jumped at the opportunity. Keep in mind that nothing is in stone yet, but the ball is certainly rolling! Just as a side note, one of the changes being implemented is no more breaks. Does that really mean no more breaks at all? Absolutely not, all it means is that breaks are spent on the mountain and not driving back to where you live. So if I go to work for Mountain TOP I would be gone for the ENTIRE summer.

So except for band and the 12 hours this semester all of these changes have occured over this weekend. It has been incredibly crazy up here at Purdue, but definitely in a good way. I feel excited and energized with what the future has to offer. Most importantly I feel like I am making a difference in the world and that means more than anything else!

Recently I have been reading a book entitled Wild at Heart. It is an excellent beyond excellent book. I can't tell you how many people have come up to me and started a conversation when they see me with the book. Girls if you wanna know how a guy works this is totally the book to read. Guys if you wanna change your life for the better then this is totally the book for you. After I read parts of the book Amy Haywood and I have been chatting about them and reflecting on them from a christian standpoint. It has been really cool. Its also been fun getting to reconnect with her.

Well I think that is all for now. I leave on Thursday for Utah to go skiing with the fam. That should be a BLAST! My life is busy and packed with amazing events that its hard to remember them all. What a nice problem to have!

Have a great rest of the day everyone. Leave me a note and let me what you think of the new look. After a couple of hours of coding I think I like it now, but if you have any suggestions I am certainly open to them.

Jason<><

3:28 p.m.
prev :: next


credits