menu

Closing Remarks on a Tumbleweed

2005-01-03
What an awesome day today turned out to be. I got 12 hours of sleep. When I woke up mom was taking down Christmas stuff. I knew I had to get out of the house fast before she put me to work, so I called Weg and got out of the house ASAP. I did some erands and then went to the Vandy basketball game. That was lots of fun. Then myself, Aimee, Weg, Rachel, and Kevin went back to my house and had dinner. Sadly though, everyone except Aimee left after dinner. Kevin was such a cool kid, I was really really hoping he would come back. Sadly though car troubles ensued and he went home. Aimee and I, though, were determined not to let the night go to waste. Granted we had different motives for not wanting the night to go quietly. I simply was sick of playing on the computer and wanted to hang out with Brentwood kids. And Aimee, err..., just wanted to play some cards and hang out with the fam. :)

Right, so anyway, through our powers combined we ended up getting Sarah White to come over and play cards with us. We had a blast! Once again, this holiday trend of hanging out with people I haven't seen in a looong time continues. I like this trend.

College is calling my name. My inbox is starting to fill up with all sorts of official emails again. "So Jason, I was just curious. Will you be running for President or not?" Hahaha, well kid...you are just gonna have to wait and find out. :p I never knew how much fun politics could be. =) All this time I have been medling in band stuff when politics was sitting right there waiting for the taking. Well now the time has come to jump in with two feet instead of just my pinky toe. I wonder if any of those res hall people read this thing? Ahh well, rumors will abound now when I get back if they do. :)

And now to cap off the El Paso recap. Last night I told you about the tumbleweeds. Tonight I will tell you about the people. True friends come slowly to me. I don't just let people in quickly. I definitely am great at those quick non-chalant relationships where names are traded and talk about the weather is your favorite topic. But when it comes to really knowing someone and being friends I take a good bit longer than the average person. In El Paso I definitely had a few relationships finally tip from surface stupidness to real friends. It really made the trip an awesome experience. The sad part though is that this was my last real time in band so I won't see these kids ever again really. Thats why when I said goodbye to everyone as they left to get on their charter flight this deep sadness came over me. I went back up to my room and really had some depression and doubt take me over. Had I made the decision to quit band just a few weeks to early? In my heart I really don't think I did. Still though, I had just made some great new friends and now I am losing them. On the flip side band had ceased to be fun anymore and I know deep down that it was time to move on. In the end, this last band performance has been alot harder than I thought it would be, but at the same time still a step in the right direction.

Speaking of band, I dunno if its the size of the band or what, but those Vandy kids all seem to act like they have known each other for over a year. Maybe you all put up a good front, but it sure looked like everyone knew everyone and enjoyed hanging out with each other. It sure as heck isn't like that at Purdue! Then again the people that showed up today could have just been a small portion of the band that hangs out together regularly anyway.

Oh and on a half joking level. I totally should have gone to a liberal arts school!! Ok so more than half joking. :) But still, its funny. Hey, at least I am not at Georgia Tech! :p

Lets see, any parting comments before I close this entry for the night. If you didn't catch my post last night I would suggest that for your reading pleasure....and Ultimate Frisbee at noon! I think that concludes my announcements. Night!

-Jason<><

1:10 a.m.
prev :: next


credits