menu

The End of a Fiasco

2004-12-07
I am calm now. :) The dust has settled and everything has been worked out. The final result of this whole group fiasco ended with me making sure this girl failed the project. She never did a single ounce of work. When we gave the presentation in class she just sat in her seat and watched us give the presentation. Then when class was over she walked over to me with a huff and started going off on me. Now, when people get mad I have a tendancy to get calmer. Not sure why, but I do. So while she exploded I calmly replied to all her questions and proved all her lies wrong. We both went to the professor. She told her case. I again proved her new lies she used on the professor wrong. The professor gave her a zero on the project and she will more than likely fail the class seeing as how this project was worth more than 30% of her final grade.

I don't feel good about what I did, but I certainly don't feel bad. I only feel like I did the right thing. We all screw up in life. The goal is to have the punishment fit the crime and teach you to not do the same thing again. I hope in the end I helped her realize she needs to make a contribution to society and not just be dead weight.

I have to admit one thing did come of this that warmed my heart. When I told this story to Brian Gershkoff he smiled at me and said "Jason, you have an amazing way with people. You are gonna be one awesome manager when you grow up." It takes a lot to get Brian Gershkoff to allow a compliment to slip from his mouth. :)

So what is up besides my group fiasco? Well, its funny you ask that. :) A lot has been going on up here. I have been working hard finishing up projects and final papers that are all being turned in this week. Amazingly after taking 20 hours of classes I only have two final exams! That has a trade off though. All of my finals are in the form of papers and projects that are all amazingly due on just about the same day. *Insert Stressed Smiley*

Tonight my trumpet rank had a party. It was a blast. We all decorated stockings and ate burgers and laughed. I also got to sit and chat with Meghan which was something I had never had the chance to do. Its amazing how different a person can become once you get the chance to talk with them. She is in a Sorority and so naturaly I had just assumed what type of person she was. I know, I know, I should be shot for essentially labeling someone like that, but you just can't really help it sometimes. At a school of 30k its all too easy to just look at someone and imagine what kind of person they are. I am really going to break that habit of mine. After talking with Meghan I really really need to stop judging people in the greek system. She was an amazing girl who sure taught me alot in the thirty minutes or so we got to chat. I just hope I didn't make too embarassing of a shocked face when she told me she didn't drink. I think what amazed me the most, though, was finding out how many values we had in common and how dedicated she was to not letting them fall. I am so proud to say I know a greek kid who shares my values. :)

...And before anyone starts pestering me, she has a boyfriend. Hehe, that killed that conversation. :p

Have a great night world. See you all in, oh, a week and a day or two...

-Jason<><

11:09 p.m.
prev :: next


credits