menu

An advisor named Jenniffer.

2004-10-26
I have always firmly believed in having a plan for your life. One of my goals for college was to get all my required classes out of the way and to take a ton of classes my first few semesters in the hopes that I wouldn't have to work as hard my senior year. Well folks, it appears I am on the perfect path to acheiving that goal. You see, I walked into my advisors room and she asked me how my 20 hours were going this semester....

"Rough." I said.

"I told you so!" She replied.

"In all honesty though Jennifer I wouldn't change a thing. I am glad I took 20 hours this semester. I have learned alot about myself and how much I can physically handle on my plate at once. No one is superhuman...but how close can a person get?" I said that last part with a big smile. We both laughed.

"Well Jason, let me be honest with you. At the rate you are going you will definitely graduate a semester early, and if you keep up this 20 hour madness, a year early."

Well, I really don't want to graduate early. College is just so much fun. No point in ending the party early! "I know, I know. I am not going to keep this 20 hour thing up. I just wanted to give it a whirl. Mark me down for no more than 18 hours ever again. Also, just spread my classes out over the rest of my time so I can begin to relax."

"Ok, well lets see. I'll keep you at 18 hours until second semester Junior year and then it looks like you'll just be taking 3 or 4 classes a semester until you graduate at the end of your senior year. Do you wanna save your electives?"

"Oh yes! Most definitely!!"

"Ok, your senior year it looks like you will have 4 classes first semester and 3 second semester. And all will be electives."

"That is so awesome!!!! Jenniffer you are the greatest!!!!"

"Now Jason have you thought about graduate school...."

This was when I tried avoiding the subject. =) You see I got to thinking, I plan on being an RA second semester next year and continuing until I graduate. Well, being an RA means that all of my tuition is paid for by the school. So, why not get a masters in OLS? It would be free of charge and I would get to stay on campus for another 3 or 4 years. Plus, when I got out I would be rockin the free world with all my knowledge and what not. I would certainly have all the tools for starting my own business!!

*Sigh* So, many choices. Thankfully, I don't have to make decisions for another year or so. Most importantly no matter what I do decide I think COMDATA will be supportive. That is a huge plus. In the meantime I am just gonna focus on the fact that in a year I will be sipping.....umm grapejuice.....and relaxing in a beach chair while all my little freshman run up and down the hall. Life will be good.

Just make sure that no matter what, you are doing what you want to do...

-Jason<><

12:43 a.m.
prev :: next


credits