menu

Wisonsin*(@#$

2004-10-17
What a weekend! I rode the highs and fell hard on the lows.

Friday night students started lining up outside my window right on the other side of the street so that they could be on ESPN's College Gameday. It was crazy. The set was located right outside my window. In fact if you watched the show my room was just barely off the picture to the left. =) The excitement in the air was contagious. Everyone was all hyped up and ready to play some football!

Saturday the taping of College Gameday starts at 9am. I know this because that is when the incredibly loud cheering began that woke me up. A couple thousand people were there for the taping and they were all outside my window screaming their heads off. Yeah, it was loud. :) I didn't mind though. I just put some sweat pants on and headed outside to join them! I think my favorite part of the morning was the guys in banana suits on my front steps. That was just plain funny.

So, the analysts on Gameday all predicted us to win the football game. Now, let me remind you that this weekend was also Homecoming... Ok, with that in mind, imagine thousands of people just roaming around all excited beyond belief. There was no escaping it. Even kids who hated football couldn't resist getting fired up.

Band starts at 1:30 and by 4:30 the game was underway. The stadium was packed beyond belief. I think we probably broke some attendance records. The noise level was often defening. It was so awesome! The first half finishes and we are down 7 nothing. Its ok, we can still pull it out! Moral of the story is, the game was INCREDIBLY close and I thought I was gonna die of a heart attack. Everyone was on the edge of their seat the ENTIRE game. There was often so much nervous energy that you would feel kinda sick inside. In the end we lost in the final minutes. Final score was 20-17. The loss was HUGE. We basicaly have now been ousted from possible BCS anything. Which sucks big time. Plus, Kyle probably just lost his chance at Heissman. :( When the game ended it was rather interesting. Everyone was in shock. I swear to you, no one in the stands budged for a solid two minutes. They all just stood there. It wasn't until we started our Post-Game show that people finally realized it was over and we had failed.

After the game all that excitement had left everyone. The entire campus was depressed. No one was holding their head up. I walked into the little mini-mart to get dinner and every single person was answering questions with one word. Since everyone was so mad that we lost campus was a rather hostile place too. All the RA's had to guard all the doors into the residence hall to keep the angry crazy people out.

I'm not gonna lie, last night I was quite heart-broken too along with the rest of campus. I, however, decided to make the most of my night. =) So, my Ultimate Frisbee players come ino my room and ask what on earth we are gonna do the rest of the night. Nothing seemed like fun anymore. What to do?! I'll tell you what we did. :)

First we went door to door trying to find someone with poker chips. Eventually we found some and played poker until 1 in the morning. Then from 1-2 we played basketball outside on courts across from the CoRec. After that we played football from 2-3 in front of Tark. Finally we finished the night out by playing a big game of Risk from 3 until 5:30. In the end myself and two other guys won. We formed an alliance and just dominated. I conquered Autralia (thats my homeland baby!) my first turn and then spent the rest of the game dominating all of Asia. The other two guys focused on Europe and North America. By the end of the night I had also decided to expand and take over Africa. :) We had so much fun.

So while everyone else on campus is walking around depressed today myself and the Tark Ultimate Underdogs are all recovered from the big loss. The downside, though, is that we haven't really had any sleep. I went to bed at 5:30 this morning after Risk ended and slept until my alarm went off at noon. I figured I should probably wake up by noon so that I would be able to fall back asleep tonight. Oh man though, what a weekend! This is one for the history books.

-Jason<><

P.S. The temperature last night while playing football, basketball, etc. was 31 degrees. I think that really helped keep us awake. :p

P.S.S. Those of you coming up for Nats, I wouldn't be surprised if it was snowing by then. Its mid-October and we have already gone below freezing multiple times up here.

P.S.S.S. What is going on with everyone else at college? I haven't heard many stories so far. Lots of people have just sorta dropped off the radar screen it seems like.

3:58 p.m.
prev :: next


credits