menu

Goodnight Henry

2004-10-12
My mom told me this tonight...

Henry died last Sat. night. A friend called Sunday that knew I drove him sometimes. He was apparently sick for abut 3 weeks. Just an old tired body I think. He wouldn't go to the hospital so ladies that had befriended him like I had stayed by his side. He was on a cot in the barn. At night the fire department and police department looked after him. On Sat. he asked one of the ladies to put clean clothes on him. They put on a t-shirt but he asked for a white shirt with buttons. She went home to get one of her husbands but by the time she got back he had died....he knew...

Henry was a homeless man who walked Moores Lane all the time. He had some amazing stories to tell. Mom used to pick him up and drive him where he needed to go sometimes. The family that owns the farm towards the end of Moores Lane had always let him live in their barn. Henry was an amazing man who lived an amazing life. He is tap dancing in heaven right now I can just feel it.

-Jason<><

10:53 p.m.
prev :: next


credits