menu

A Night to Remember

2004-10-12
Tonight I had the most uplifting experience. At the stroke of midnight I decided it was time for change. I was getting myself into a rut and it wasn't leading to my goals, happiness, or grades. So, I put on my windbreaker, popped in a solid Dave CD, and headed out into the clear crisp night. I walked at first and reflected on what had happened so far this semester.

Was it what I wanted? Am I where I want to be? Where did I stray?

Then, I decided it was time to move on. Right then a great fast song came on and I just broke into a run. I ran and ran. I could just feel all the mistakes I had made turning to dust and flying off my shoulders into the wind. Oh man it was beautiful.

I finally stopped running at the reflection pool and sat down. I stared at the water, trees, and nature all around me. I listened to the silence and felt a sense of peace. I sat there and I prayed. I thanked god for all the amazing things he has blessed me with. How lucky I am to be alive in such a beautiful world.

I have a renewed sense of spirit and most importantly a sense of hope. A hope that better things are coming my way. I am in charge of my life, and I am going to make it count. Tonight was a perfect focus moment to help me put my train back on the right track.

Don't forget to take time to look at the tree right outside your room. Its changing colors you know...

-Jason<><

P.S. I dunno why I thought of this tonight, but I dreamed of that feeling you get before you go to a dance or prom. You know, that great feeling of getting to hang out with an amazingly special person and being all dressed up and butterflies in your stomach. That stuff dreams are made of. I hope I get to experience those feelings again one day. I don't want them to disappear.

1:28 a.m.
prev :: next


credits