menu

Mountain T.O.P.

2002-11-05
Everyday when I get home from school I always stop at the mailbox to pick up the mail, it seems everyone else in my family just doesn't care what is in there or they are just to lazy to go get the mail out. My point is that today I got this big envelope addressed to me! It is always so great to get things in the mail that are addressed me. I feel so special. It's like someone in the outside world is actually trying to make contact with me! Anyway, I look at the big brown envelope and I notice that the return address is from Mountain T.O.P.! It must be my application to be a summer counselor!!!

For those of you who don't know what Mountain T.O.P. is, its a non-profit organization that is centered around christian values and expanding your faith. You go up into one of five camps that they have set up in the Appalachian Mountains for a week and help out people in the valley below. The helping ranges from yard work to building a porch or shed and anything in between. When you arrive to Mountain T.O.P. you are split into YRG's, Youth Renewal Groups. These groups consist of 5 or 6 youth and one adult. The goal is to have everyone have nothing in common. For instance no one should be from the same church in your YRG. The goal is for you to interact within your YRG and form completely new friendships from the ground up. For you shy people out there you really have no choice but to get to know the people in your group. You spend about 7 hours a day with just those people for 5 days straight. You have no choice but to make friends. :)

I have been going to this camp for three summers now and every year I go they tell me that I should be on staff. Well, this is the first summer that I am eligible to be on staff and so I decided to give it a shot. I went to the prospective staff meeting this past summer and they said they would be more than happy to send me an app. Yippee!

I opened the letter that I got today and inside it said that I should be excited to be one of the few chosen to recieve an application. Apparently not everyone that goes to the prospective staff meeting gets the chance to apply! That makes me so HAPPY that they REALLY do want me to apply. I can't wait!

Now on another side note...

I have to admit. How much can go right? How many times can what I want to happen actually happen. How many times in a row can such great things happen to one person. Oh well, enjoy it while it lasts! Just wish me luck in getting accepted!!

Jason<><

9:18 p.m.
prev :: next


credits