menu

A Day of Firsts

2005-02-06
I am so worn out. Yesterday I went skiing for 12 straight hours with small breaks for lunch and dinner. We all hit the slopes at 10 in the morning and at 10 that night the lifts closed and we all went home. It was AWESEOME! I don't have any pictures of myself, but I do have some that I found off the internet to help illustrate what I did yesterday. You see in Michigan they don't really have any "mountains". They are more like rather large hills. Due to this the terrain was in fact a piece of cake to ski. now John was having some trouble on some parts, but that was due to yesterday being his very first day ever on snow skis. Ryan and I on the other hand were bored to death. We skiied a "black diamond" on our first run down and in all honesty it was equivalent to a very easy blue out west. So we were desperately in need of a challenge to keep us occupied for the next 11 hours and 59 minutes. That is when our attention went straight to the terrain park!


Ryan and I were both able to master this one. That first attempt I thought I was gonna die. It was scary as **** (insert practically any offensive four letter word).


Alright, so I never mastered this one. Ryan did though. Its rather difficult! Snowboarders have it easy since they just have one piece to keep on the rainbow. We skiiers though have two parts. One ski can fall off the edge so easily and then you are done for. :)


So here we go, the JUMPS! This is what I am most proud of. To be honest I certainly didn't think I had the balls, but after a few jumps of about 1 cm of air I built up the courage and went full speed. In the end on my best jump of the night I cleard the entire flat surface of the jump and landed on the backside. It was AWESOME! I still can't believe how much air I got! Ryan and I had the most fun on this part of the terrain park.

So all in all yesterday was way more fun than I thought it would be. I helped teach John how to ski and I taught myself how to do the jumps. Thats all from here. John and I are going to take our tired bodies to lunch and then I will probably come back and crash for the rest of the afternoon.

Jason<><

12:02 p.m.
prev :: next


credits