menu

A Real Job

2004-07-23
Last night was definitely a guys night out. It was a bunch of old buddies from Stelmi's class all around a pool table playing poker. $5 buy-in. I called a leave time of 10:30 and at 10:29 I had accumulated around $8. I had two pair and everyone had folded except Matt Gunter. The best part was that I had two pair with my pocket 8's. So, I went all in. I mean hey its only $5 and it was all fun anyway. So, Matt decided to play and he called my bet. :p In the end I lost because my two pair weren't enough of a match for his 3 of a kind. It was sooo much fun though. We were all standing up waiting for that last card. It was just like tv. =)

I definitely have one of the greatest jobs. I am so glad that I didn't stop searching while I was at the movie theatre. Today Mary-Ann my supervisor told Audrey and I to go to her office at 11:30 to go over conversions. So at 11:30 I stop by Audrey's cubicle and the two of us walk over. We sit down...no one is there. So Audrey and I chat for a while, and chat for a little while longer... Ok, so now its been a good bit and we are both wondering where Mary-Ann is. Finally a lady comes over and asks if we are waiting for Mary-Ann. We say yes and she says she will go find her for us. Then the VP of our department comes over and tells us that the meeting has been moved to the Brentwood Room (That is the big conference room on the top floor with all the really nice furniture and that big wig executive feel). So the VP and Audrey and I all walk over to the room and when we walk in our entire department goes..."SUPRISE!!!" Then the VP and our manager and everyone else proceed to inflate Audrey and I's ego for the next hour and a half about how awesome we are and how we are the greatest interns ever and that we have some magic touch with people. One lady said I just had "one of those voices". I hope that is a good thing...

When all was said and done they offered me a job for the next 2 summers and then a full time position once I had graduated. They even told me to call them during christmas break if I wanted to work. Looks like corporate america and I are gonna get along really well.

Now someone tell me that I am a terrible person and that I suck at life before all these compliments I just received start going to my head!!

Jason<><

11:26 a.m.
prev :: next


credits