menu

Mountains and Waterfalls

2004-02-23
Yesterday I walked. I put on the CD Rachel gave me a long time ago and I walked. That CD always gets my mind jogging, no pun intended. So I walked and thought and it was good.

I ended up in the library, quite a foreign place to me actually seeing as how my love to read doesn't really exist. I went, however, and found a book about the Trumps. I opened it up and started reading. I just read and read. I lost all track of time. I even forgot I was in the library. The book starts with describing the life and time of the first Trump. He, who came over at age 16, alone, on a boat from Germany, the Pfalz to be exact. It describes his life in New York at the time. I got lost in the shear beauty of opportunity and hardship that this young lad faced.

After his stint in New York he hopped on the newly completed Northern Pacific Railroad and went to Seattle. The way the book describes entering Seattle I thought my heart would explode with emotions. I mean imagine going on a train through the un-tapped Rockies. The pine trees 15 feet in diameter touching the sky. The snow capped peaks. The animals running through the forest and the waterfalls cascading off the cliffs. The mountain air, a misty mixture of freshly cut pine and burning logs. My god what I would give to live out there. And to be self-sufficient! To have the ability to walk into your backyard, cut down some trees and build a log cabin. To be able to trap your own food and clothes. To be completely one with the earth. And while I read the book, I was. For a few hours I was a pioneer. (This explains why I love canoeing so much)

I should probably read more often. :)

So TODAY, I woke up before my alarm went off. I LOVE it when that happens! Its such a great way to start the day, rather than starting off the day furious at such a hideous noise the alarm makes. The morning was so beautiful. It was overcast, mid-40s, and misty. I felt like I was on a lake, or on the New Hudson Bay. I dreamed of hopping on my boat and going crab fishing. Sadly, however, I don't live in a little dream world. I instead was forced to go to COM 114, my speech class. I then came back and gave a tour of my dorm and told people all about Purdue, which was fun. Really though, I would just like to go back to my Mountain Paradise or my dingy on the lake. That would be so much cooler.

So what is your dream? Take 45 seconds out of your day and put your dreams to paper, or my note section. :) Yeah, leave me a note. I wanna hear, I wanna learn. I want to gain insight into who you really are, you mysterious DLand reader of mine. Please share. :) Or at least come join me in the Mountains.

Jason<><

1:43 p.m.
prev :: next


credits