menu

Brain Munchie

2005-03-04
What does it mean to be a leader? Well, I definitely think that it means recognizing those people who work with you when they do amazing things. So this morning when I woke up I layed in bed for a solid half an hour and just thought. Then after taking a shower I just started pumping out nominations for all my hardest working people. I nominated themfor all sorts of different awards that are given out at Purdue. I want the world to know that I have the greatest staff, coworkers, and senate in the world. No one can top them. I dare you to try!

In my communications class we learned about the Attribution Theory which states that there is a Fundamental Attribution Error that we as humans naturally make. The error is that we naturally assume that when someone messes up it was something about the person that caused them to mess up, not the situation that they were placed in. The error is also that when someone does an awesome job we just assume the job was easy or not nearly as difficult as it really was. As a leader, I strive to consciously fight these natural errors. I challenge everyone who reads this to fight your natural tendancies. I dare you to give an honest to god from the heart "Thank You" to someone today.

I have talked with a whole bunch of you and every single one has Spring Break next week so I hope all of you enjoy! I can't remember where everyone is going, but where ever it is I wish you the safest of travels.

Jason<><

12:22 p.m.
prev :: next


credits